Training on the Philippines

Batch_36_group_picture_1

A few weeks ago, our Philippine partner organisation Project Life Subic welcomed another ten women and one man to its training program as industrial seamstress. The success of the previous trainings can be characterized by the fact that many of the current trainees were made aware of the program by former participants. They all like to report about Project Life Subic and the positive experiences they had during and after the program.

However, the Philippines are a very conservative country. Sewing is one of the jobs mainly done by women. Jaybee is the only man in the group to overcome these stereotypes. The 47-year-old, who used to dream of becoming an engineer, is happy to be given the opportunity to develop personally and professionally. “I would like to buy a sewing machine to start my own business. I could also imagine working in a sewing shop,” says Jaybee, who became aware of the program through his wife, a former participant.

For many, the training location has become a second home, giving them the opportunity to learn and develop. Together, they have acquired the most important knowledge and basics of sewing and industrial word processing in recent weeks. They all see this as an opportunity to improve their current situation and that of their children.

All participants:
Cristine D. King (36, married, 3 children, w.)
Jaybee Abad (47, married, 2 children, m.)
Lorena O. Dedicatoria (47, married, 6 children, w.)
Marites B. Bastida (46, single, 1 child, w.)
Jennifer A. Maigi (42, single, 2 children, w.)
Jennifer L. Estiva (35, married, 2 children, w.)
Regina A. Vianna (42, married, 5 children, w.)
Adelina T. Artus (48, married, 4 children, w.)
Joloreng B. Sakilan (33, married, 8 children, w.)
Melinda V. Coyoca (51, single, 1 child, w.)
Florife S. Pascua (40, married, 1 child, w.)

We would like to thank the numerous donors for making this project possible and we wish our trainees great success on their future way.

 

 

 

 

Author: Annika Benz
Translated by: Ronja Dzikus

Ausbildung auf den Philippinen

Batch_36_group_picture_1

Unsere philippinische Partnerorganisation Project Life Subic durfte vor einigen Wochen weitere zehn Frauen und einen Mann zu ihrem Ausbildungsprogramm zur/m industriellen Näher/in begrüßen. Die Erfolge der bisherigen Ausbildungen lassen sich dadurch kennzeichnen, dass viele der jetzigen Auszubildenden durch ehemalige Teilnehmer auf das Programm aufmerksam gemacht wurden. Sie alle berichten gerne von Project Life Subic und den positiven Erfahrungen, die sie während und nach dem Programm erleben durften.

Jedoch sind die Philippinen ein sehr konservatives Land. Nähen zählt dort zu den Arbeiten, die hauptsächlich von Frauen verrichtet werden. Als einziger Mann in der Runde überwindet Jaybee diese Stereotypen. Der 47-jährige, der früher davon träumte Ingenieur zu werden, ist froh darüber, dass ihm die Chance geboten wird, sich persönlich und beruflich weiterzuentwickeln. “Ich würde gerne eine Nähmaschine kaufen, um mein eigenes Geschäft zu gründen. Ich könnte mir auch vorstellen in einer Näherei zu arbeiten”, meint Jaybee, der durch seine Frau, eine ehemalige Teilnehmerin, auf das Programm aufmerksam wurde.

Für viele ist der Ausbildungsort zu einem zweiten Zuhause geworden, welches ihnen die Möglichkeit bietet, zu lernen und sich weiterzuentwickeln. Gemeinsam erwarben sie in den letzten Wochen, die wichtigsten Kenntnisse und Grundlagen des Nähens und der industriellen Textilverarbeitung. Sie alle sehen darin die Chance, ihre momentane Lebenssituation und die ihrer Kinder zu verbessern.

Alle Teilnehmer:
Cristine D. King (36, verheiratet, 3 Kinder, w.)
Jaybee Abad (47, verheiratet, 2 Kinder, m.)
Lorena O. Dedicatoria (47, verheiratet, 6 Kinder, w.)
Marites B. Bastida (46, ledig, 1 Kind, w.)
Jennifer A. Maigi (42, ledig, 2 Kinder, w.)
Jennifer L. Estiva (35, verheiratet, 2 Kinder, w.)
Regina A. Vianna (42, verheiratet, 5 Kinder, w.)
Adelina T. Artus (48, verheiratet, 4 Kinder, w.)
Joloreng B. Sakilan (33, verheiratet, 8 Kinder, w.)
Melinda V. Coyoca (51, ledig, 1 Kind, w.)
Florife S. Pascua (40, verheiratet, 1 Kind, w.)

Wir bedanken uns herzlich bei den zahlreichen Spendern, dass sie dieses Projekt ermöglichen konnten und wünschen unseren Auszubildenden viel Erfolg auf ihrem zukünftigen Weg.

 

 

 

Autor: Annika Benz