How Tailor Trainings Transform Lives

Charise_1

Participants of our sponsored sewing training not only learn how to handle high-speed sewing machines, various yarns and fabrics. They also learn how to apply to local employers and convince them in a job interview, punctuality and reliability are also being worked on. At the end of last year, another group of students benefited from this unique opportunity.

One of them is Iluminada. The 54-year-old single mother has been caring for her four children alone since the divorce from her husband. Currently, her monthly income is around 16 euros (1000 pesos) and that only through the financial support of one of her children. Through training, she has a good chance of finding a job later on.

 

Elinor, another participant, lives in a three-bedroom apartment in Subic with her husband, their two children and other relatives. The 47-year-old bought a sewing machine after training. When Project Life’s staff visited her in early January, she already earned more than 10 euros a week by making and repairing clothes.

 

The youngest participant in the course was Charise (34 years). She lives in Olongapo City with her three children and her husband. After training, Charise opened a tailor shop, where she repairs clothes. When we asked her about it, she estimated her income at about 5 euros a week.

Our heartfelt thanks go to the project sponsors who made this training possible for Iluminada, Elinor and Charise for €90 each. The personal thank you cards for the participants are on their way!

Wie Schneiderausbildungen Leben verändern

Charise_1

Nicht nur den Umgang mit Hochgeschwindigkeits-Nähmaschinen, verschiedenen Garnen und Stoffen lernen unsere Teilnehmer der gesponserten Nähausbildungen. Sie lernen außerdem, wie man sich bei lokalen Arbeitgebern bewirbt und im Interview überzeugt, auch an Pünktlichkeit und Zuverlässigkeit wird gefeilt. Davon profitieren auch unsere Teilnehmerinnen des Kurses Ende letzten Jahres.

Eine von ihnen ist Iluminada. Die 54-jährige Mutter kümmert sich seit der Trennung von ihrem Mann allein um ihre vier Kinder. Aktuell liegt ihr monatliches Einkommen bei etwa 16 Euro (1000 php) und das auch nur durch die finanzielle Unterstützung eines ihrer Kinder. Durch die Ausbildung hat sie gute Chancen auf einen Arbeitsplatz.

 

Elinor, eine weitere Teilnehmerin, lebt mit ihrem Mann, ihren beiden Kindern und weiteren Verwandten in einer 3-Zimmer-Wohnung in Subic. Die 47-jährige kaufte sich nach der Ausbildung eine Nähmaschine. Als Project Life’s Mitarbeiter sie Anfang Januar besuchte, verdiente sie mit der Herstellung und Reparatur von Kleidung bereits mehr als 10 Euro pro Woche.

 

Die jüngste Teilnehmerin des Kurses war Charise (34 Jahre). Sie lebt gemeinsam mit ihren drei Kindern und ihrem Mann in Olongapo City. Nach der Ausbildung eröffnete Charise eine Änderungsschneiderei. Als wir sie danach fragten, schätzte sie ihr Einkommen auf ca. 5 Euro pro Woche ein.

Unser herzlicher Dank geht an die Projektpaten, die Iluminada, Elinor und Charise diese Ausbildung für 90 € ermöglicht haben. Die persönlichen Dankeskarten der Teilnehmer sind bereits auf dem Weg!