Bakri

WhatsApp Image 2019-06-24 at 07.27.28
Place: Lombok, Indonesia  
Age: 32  
Business: Warung  
Loan: 66 €

 

About 3.35 million people live on the 4,725 km² large island of Lombok. In contrast to agriculture, tourism on the island is of subordinate importance. Therefore, the people concentrate mainly on the cultivation and sale of rice, vegetables and spices.

One of them is Bakri. After having had some negative experiences, our micro-borrower Bakri (32 years old) decided to open his own business. Bakri wanted to own his own house and relieve his parents financially, which is why he first tried his hand as a guest worker. However, when he was tricked by a personnel company, he lost hope of achieving his goal. Yet Bakri did not allow himself to be defeated and, after long consideration which business he could start, he opened the sale of vegetables and staple foods with a capital stock of 1,000,000 Rp. (approx. 66 €).

Since the men of the strictly conservative village are ashamed to sell vegetables, this usually is an occupation for women. Therefore, many villagers considered him completely unsuitable for that job. But Bakri was not misled by this and currently makes a profit of about 25,000-50,000 Rp. (1,56 – 3,13 euro) a day. Due to his limited capital he can only offer a limited assortment. He also lacks exhibition and storage facilities, which is why Bakri displays the products in boxes on the floor. Unfortunately, this means that the products get damaged more quickly or even become unusable.

With a micro-credit of 1.000.000.000 Rupiah (approx. 66 €) Bakri now expanded his assortment and bought shelves in which he can store and present his goods in a better way.

 

Author: Anja Reichmann
Translation: Ronja Dzikus

Bakri

WhatsApp Image 2019-06-24 at 07.27.28
Ort: Lombok, Indonesien  
Alter: 32  
Geschäft: Straßenstand  
Kredit: 66 €

 

Auf der 4.725 km² großen Insel Lombok leben ca. 3,35 Millionen Menschen. Im Gegensatz zur Landwirtschaft ist der Tourismus auf der Insel eher von untergeordneter Bedeutung. Daher konzentrieren sich die Menschen überwiegend auf den Anbau und Verkauf von Reis, Gemüse und Gewürzen.

Auch unser Mikrokreditnehmer Bakri (32 Jahre) entschloss sich nach einigen schlechten Erfahrungen dazu, ein eigenes Geschäft zu eröffnen. Bakri wollte ein eigenes Haus besitzen und seine Eltern finanziell entlasten, weshalb er sich zunächst als Gastarbeiter versuchte. Allerdings verlor er die Hoffnung darauf, sein Ziel zu erreichen, als er von einer Personalfirma letztlich ausgetrickst wurde. Doch Bakri ließ sich nicht unterkriegen und eröffnete nach langem Überlegen, welches Geschäft er starten könnte, mit einem Grundkapital von 1,000,000 Rp. (ca. 66 Euro) den Verkauf von Gemüse und Grundnahrungsmitteln.

Da sich die Männer des streng konservativen Dorfes dafür schämen, Gemüse zu verkaufen, ist dies normalerweise die Aufgabe der Frauen. Daher hielten ihn viele Dorfbewohner als vollkommen ungeeignet. Doch hiervon lies sich Bakri nicht beirren und er erzielt derzeit einen Gewinn von ca. 25.000-50.000 Rp. (1,56 – 3,13 Euro) am Tag für sich. Aufgrund seines begrenzten Kapitals kann er nur ein begrenztes Sortiment anbieten. Außerdem fehlen ihm die Ausstellungs- und Lagermöglichkeiten, weshalb Bakri die Produkte in Kisten gefüllt auf dem Boden ausstellt. Dies führt leider dazu, dass die Produkte schneller beschädigt und unbrauchbar werden.

Mit einem Mikrokredit von 1.000.000.000 Rupiah (ca. 66 €) erweiterte Bakri nun sein Sortiment und kaufte Regale, in welchen er seine Ware besser aufbewahren und präsentieren kann.

 

Autor: Anja Reichmann