Business Management Training

53336681_2194800937207174_154390751302647808_n

How can people in poorer, remote regions of Indonesia sustainably be empowered to live a financially better life? How can we strengthen the economic condition of an entire village community, do so permanently and individually help people in need? These are the questions our board members asked themselves. Together with the Indonesian partner organisation Gema Alam, we wanted to give our micro-borrowers the opportunity to develop their business skills and develop new ideas in mutual exchange.

“The microloans are a big help to our people,” confirms Juaini, Gema Alam’s project coordinator, “but people are not used to planning long-term or keeping accurate records of their earnings or expenses. They run their business as they feel like and only do what appears necessary to them. They don’t have any priorities for their daily routine. This also prevents them from determining if and how their business is developing. ”

This is exactly what a two-day seminar is tackling, which we have been able to finance thanks to numerous donors. 23 small business owners, mostly women, took part in this “business management training.”

“In simulations, participants learned to showcase and promote their products,” Juaini explains. “Other seminar parts were: The importance of good customer relationships, financial management, creating a business plan and the social responsibility of the cooperatives in the respective village community.”

For Tobias Schüßler, director of GMI, this seminar is exactly the right way to achieve the goals set for sustainable development assistance: “Project participants not only receive loans, but at the same time learn to learn vital skills to improve their businesses and address social problems in their villages. This will strengthen the village community as a whole in the long term. “

Business Management Training

53336681_2194800937207174_154390751302647808_n

Wie kann man Menschen in abgelegenen ärmeren Regionen Indonesiens langfristig und nachhaltig zu einem finanziell bessergestellten Leben verhelfen? Wie kann man die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung einer ganzen Dorfgemeinschaft voranbringen, sie dauerhaft stärken und Not leidende Menschen individuell fördern? Diese Fragen stellten sich unsere Vorstandsmitglieder. Gemeinsam mit der indonesischen Partnerorganisation Gema Alam wollten wir unseren Mikrokreditnehmern die Möglichkeit geben, ihre betriebswirtschaftlichen Fähigkeiten auszubauen und im gegenseitigen Austausch neue Ideen zu entwickeln.

„Die Mikrokredite sind eine große Hilfe für die Menschen“, bestätigt Juaini, Projektkoordinator von Gema Alam, „aber die Menschen sind nicht gewohnt, langfristig zu planen oder genau Buch zu führen über ihre Einnahmen oder Ausgaben. Sie führen ihr Geschäft so, wie es ihnen gerade in den Sinn kommt und nur das, was ihnen gerade notwendig erscheint, machen sie. Sie kennen keine Prioritäten für ihren Tagesablauf. Dadurch können sie auch nicht überprüfen, ob und wie sich ihr Geschäft entwickelt.“

Genau hier greift ein zweitägiges Seminar, das wir dank zahlreicher Spender finanzieren konnten. 23 bisher geförderte Kleinunternehmer, überwiegend Frauen, nahmen an diesem „Business Management Training“ teil.

„In Simulationen lernten die Teilnehmer, ihre Produkte zu präsentieren und zu bewerben“, erklärt Juaini. „Weitere Seminarteile waren: die Wichtigkeit guter Kundenbeziehungen, Finanzverwaltung, Erstellen eines Geschäftsplanes und die soziale Verantwortung der Kooperativen in der jeweiligen Dorfgemeinschaft.“

Für Tobias Schüßler, Vorstandsvorsitzender von GMI ist dieses Seminar genau der richtige Weg, die gesetzten Ziele der nachhaltigen Entwicklungshilfe zu erreichen: „Die Projektteilnehmer erhalten nicht nur Kredite sondern lernen gleichzeitig, mit ihren Unternehmen auf das Gemeinwohl zu achten und soziale Probleme in ihren Dörfern zu überwinden. Hierdurch wird die Dorfgemeinschaft als Ganzes langfristig gestärkt.“