Corona Update

The corona virus also impacts our partner organizations and project participants in South East Asia. In Indonesia, a national emergency has been declared. In the Philippines, President Duterte imposed a curfew on the entire country. In Thailand, the Prime Minister declared a state of emergency. No matter what terms are used, everywhere the measures imposed lead to serious cuts and changes.

We are in regular contact with our partner organisations and are kept up to date by them. Currently, our work is at a standstill, no new microcredits are given out, no seminars or workshops are held and no training courses are conducted. In order to protect those who conduct our programs on site, we have also paused all ongoing microcredits for now. 

Our first priority is to help people improve their lives. This is especially true in the current situation. Together with our partner organizations, we are already considering how we can help small entrepreneurs get off to a good start quickly, unbureaucratically and sustainably after the Corona crisis, and how we can support Project Life Subic, Gema Alam and the Tamar Center in quickly restarting programs once the restrictions have ended. Our partner organisations are in exchange with our project participants and were able to assure the small entrepreneurs and trainees that we will be there for them again with microcredits and further support after the end of the curfews.

Corona Update

Das Corona-Virus macht auch vor unseren Partnerorganisationen und Projektteilnehmern in Südostasien nicht halt. In Indonesien wurde der Nationale Notstand ausgerufen. Auf den Philippinen verhängte Präsident Duterte eine Ausgangssperre über das komplette Land. In Thailand verhängte der Premierminister den Ausnahmezustand. Ganz gleich, welche Bezeichnungen verwendet werden, überall führen die verhängten Maßnahmen zu gravierenden Einschnitten und Änderungen.

Wir sind in regelmäßigem Kontakt mit unseren Partnerorganisationen und werden von diesen aus erster Hand auf dem Laufenden gehalten. Aktuell steht unsere Arbeit still, es werden keine neuen Mikrokredite vergeben, keine Seminare oder Workshops durchgeführt und keine Ausbildungen abgehalten. Um unsere Mitarbeitenden vor Ort zu schützen, haben wir ebenfalls alle laufenden Mikrokredite gestundet. 

Für uns steht an erster Stelle, dass es den Menschen besser geht. Das gilt ganz besonders in der jetzigen Situation. Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnerorganisationen überlegen wir schon jetzt, wie wir den Kleinunternehmern nach der Corona-Krise schnell, unbürokratisch und nachhaltig zu einem guten Neustart verhelfen und wie wir Project Life Subic, Gema Alam und das Tamar Center dabei unterstützen können, ihre Programme nach Ende der Beschränkungen neu zu starten. Unsere Partnerorganisationen sind mit unseren Projektteilnehmern im Austausch und konnten den Kleinunternehmern und Auszubildenden so versichern, dass wir auch nach dem Ende der Ausgangssperren wieder mit Mikrokrediten und weiterer Unterstützung für sie da sind.