Demah

Demah 08
Place: East-Lombok, Indonesia  
Age: 50  
Business: Store
Loan: 56 €

 

Demah is an Indonesian woman, 50 years old and lives in Lombok, an island located east of Bali. She´s been selling fruits and vegetables for more than 20 years. Three years ago, Demah started to sell Indonesian cakes e.g. Kue Apem. Customers enjoy the sweet caramel taste and the soft consistency of these cakes. These traditional cakes are made of a steamed dough, which is made of rice flour. Other ingredients are coconut milk, yeast and palm sugar.

Her husband is a trucker and only comes home 3 times a week. Demah has four children with her husband and they’ve all moved out of house already. The married couple only lives together with their granddoughter. Demah´s small business only adds about € 56 – 112 per month to their shared income.

Demah was only able to attend primary school when she was younger. Therefore, she seeks to enable her granddoughter the opportunity for a better future and enjoy a better education than she had. Demah experiences declining demand for her products and due to that her income suffers. With the help of GMI´s microloan, Demah aims to increase her income by attracting more customers and offer them a broader selection of products and pastries. The microloan from GMI is € 56, just the amount of a monthly income. She wants to buy more ingredients and also aims to buy a blender and a small sales car.

Translated by Mustafa

Demah

Demah 08
Ort: Ost-Lombok, Indonesien  
Alter: 50  
Geschäft: Geschäft  
Kredit: 56 €

 

Demah kommt aus dem Osten Lomboks. Seit über 20 Jahren verkauft sie nun selbst angebautes Obst und Gemüse. Seit drei Jahren bietet sie ihren Kunden auch traditionelles indonesisches Gebäck an, wie zum Beispiel Kue Apem. Dies ist ein traditioneller Kuchen aus gedämpftem Teig, bestehend aus Reismehl, Kokosnussmilch, Hefe und Palmzucker. Demahs Kunden dürfen sich an der lockeren Konsistenz und dem süßen Karamellgeschmack der Küchlein erfreuen.

Die 50-jährige Indonesierin und ihr Mann haben vier gemeinsame Kinder, die mittlerweile alle ausgezogen sind. Nur noch ihre Enkelin wohnt mit dem Ehepaar im Haus. Ihr Mann ist Lastwagenfahrer und kommt daher nur dreimal in der Woche nach Hause. Durch ihr Kleinunternehmen trägt Demah zwischen 56 und 112 Euro monatlich zur Haushaltskasse bei.

Da sie selbst nur die Möglichkeit hatte, die Grundschule zu besuchen, möchte sie ihrer Enkelin eine bessere Ausbildung ermöglichen. Zurzeit ist Demah allerdings mit dem Problem einer sinkenden Nachfrage ihrer Produkte konfrontiert. Um wieder mehr Kunden zu gewinnen und diesen eine größere Auswahl an Gebäck bieten zu können, will sie mit Hilfe eines GMI Mikrokredites von 56 Euro – so hoch wie ein Monatslohn – neue Zutaten kaufen. In naher Zukunft möchte sie sich auch einen Mixer und einen kleinen Verkaufswagen zulegen, um die Produktion zu steigern und mehr potentielle Kunden zu erreichen.

Autorin: Annika