The Meaning of Sewing

Estela N. Giray 1

Sewing – the grand art of repairing old clothes or even creating new ones. Talking about sewing makes me inevitably think of my grandmother. I would think of all the times my grandma patched up my ruined trousers after I had tripped and fallen on my knees. I was always fascinated by the fact that with only a needle and a thread she was able to fix my trousers.

For some people, sewing might be the most boring thing to do, while others consider sewing as the best hobby and passion in the world. But to our 13 participants of the training program by our partner organization Project Life Subic in the Philippines, sewing is more than just a hobby. It offers them a new start to a more self-determined life, giving them the opportunity to improve their current financial and living conditions.

Today, we live in an increasingly “disposable culture”. If you have a sock with a hole in it, you would rather go to a store and buy a new one, instead of patching it up. Some people do not have the financial resources to do so, apart from the fact that limitless consumption is harming our environment. By becoming a seamstress, the participants of the program learn how to fix and re-use old cloth and fabric.
This time, Project Life Subic welcomed 13 women to their sewing training:

Zorahayda Cortes (32 years old), married, 1 child

Mercy Camacho (47 years old), married, 2 children

Cyrene Cabigayan (33 years old), married, 2 children

Maricel Edora (38 years old) single parent, 1 child

Estela N. Giray (45 years old), single parent, 7 children

Gennelyn J. Gallardo (48 years old), married, 6 children

Julieta V. Garcia (50 years old), married, 1 child

Azenith L. Isidoro (37 years old), single parent, 3 children

Ariel S. Jarobel (23 years old), single, no children

Leonor Y. Nacor (35 years old), single parent, 2 children

Caridad M. Pasamonte (53 years old), married, 4 children

Esperanza P. Pegad (43 years old), single parent, 4 children

Amy del Pilar Reglos (47 years old), single parent, 1 child

Some of these women came with the aim of learning how to make clothes for their children. Being a single parent is not easy, let alone having to take care of six children on your own like Gennelyn. The 48 years old participant is happy about her newly acquired skills. Now she does not have to worry about her children going to school with worn-out clothes. Quite the contrary, she is already excited to create new clothing for her children.

But sewing skills are not the only skills our participants gained. Some women profited from the training in another way. “I learned how to bring myself out and boost my confidence with the help of Project Life Subic”, recounted Maricel. Becoming a seamstress makes them grow as a person. By offering this program, we want to shape the future of people in need in a better way- and you can be part of that! Just a small donation can make a massive difference and enables us to assist even more people to shape the future they choose for themselves.

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Annika

Die Bedeutung des Nähens

Estela N. Giray 1

Nähen – die große Kunst, alte Kleidung zu reparieren oder sogar neue zu kreieren. Beim Wort “Nähen” denke ich sofort an meine Großmutter. An all die Zeiten, in denen sie meine ruinierte Hose zusammenflickte, nachdem ich gestolpert war und auf die Knie fiel. Mich hat immer fasziniert, dass sie lediglich Nadel und Faden brauchte, um meine Hose zu reparieren.

Für einige Menschen ist das Nähen vielleicht das Langweiligste, was man tun kann, während andere das Nähen als das beste Hobby und die beste Leidenschaft der Welt betrachten. Aber für unsere 13 Teilnehmenden des Trainingsprogramms unserer Partnerorganisation Project Life Subic auf den Philippinen ist Nähen mehr als nur ein Hobby. Es bietet ihnen einen Neuanfang in ein selbstbestimmteres Leben und gibt ihnen die Möglichkeit, ihre derzeitigen Finanz- und Lebensbedingungen zu verbessern.

Heute leben wir zunehmend in einer „Einwegkultur“. Wenn man eine Socke mit einem Loch darin hat, geht man lieber in einen Laden und kauft eine neue, anstatt sie zu flicken. Einige Menschen verfügen nicht über die finanziellen Mittel, um dies zu tun, abgesehen von der Tatsache, dass der grenzenlose Konsum unsere Umwelt schädigt. Als Näherin lernen die Teilnehmer des Programms, wie man alte Stoffe repariert und wiederverwendet.

Diesmal begrüßte Project Life Subic 13 Frauen zu dem Nähkurs:

Zorahayda Cortes (32 Jahre alt), verheiratet, 1 Kind

Mercy Camacho (47 Jahre alt), verheiratet, 2 Kinder

Cyrene Cabigayan (33 Jahre alt), verheiratet, 2 Kinder

Maricel Edora (38 Jahre alt) alleinerziehend, 1 Kind

Estela N. Giray (45 Jahre alt), alleinerziehend, 7 Kinder

Gennelyn J. Gallardo (48 Jahre alt), verheiratet, 6 Kinder

Julieta V. Garcia (50 Jahre alt), verheiratet, 1 Kind

Azenith L. Isidoro (37 Jahre alt), alleinerziehend, 3 Kinder

Ariel S. Jarobel (23 Jahre alt), ledig, keine Kinder

Leonor Y. Nacor (35 Jahre alt), alleinerziehend, 2 Kinder

Caridad M. Pasamonte (53 Jahre alt), verheiratet, 4 Kinder

Esperanza P. Pegad (43 Jahre alt), alleinerziehend, 4 Kinder

Amy del Pilar Reglos (47 Jahre alt), alleinerziehend, 1 Kind

Einige dieser Frauen kamen mit dem Ziel, zu lernen, wie man Kleidung für ihre Kinder herstellt. Ein alleinerziehendes Elternteil zu sein, ist nicht einfach, geschweige denn, sich um sechs Kinder selbst zu kümmern wie Gennelyn es tut. Die 48-jährige Teilnehmerin freut sich über ihre neu erworbenen Fähigkeiten. Jetzt muss sie sich keine Sorgen mehr machen, dass ihre Kinder mit abgenutzten Kleidern zur Schule gehen. Im Gegenteil, sie ist schon jetzt begeistert, neue Kleidung für ihre Kinder zu kreieren.

Aber unsere Teilnehmerinnen haben nicht nur Nähfertigkeiten erworben. Einige Frauen profitierten vom Training auf andere Weise. „Ich habe mit Hilfe von Project Life Subic gelernt, wie ich mich selbst hervorheben und mein Selbstvertrauen stärken kann“, erzählte Maricel. Eine Näherin zu werden, lässt sie als Person wachsen. Mit diesem Programm wollen wir die Zukunft von Menschen in Not besser gestalten – und ihr könnt dabei sein! Schon eine kleine Spende kann einen großen Unterschied machen und ermöglicht es uns, noch mehr Menschen dabei zu unterstützen, die Zukunft, die sie für sich selbst wählen, zu gestalten.

 

 

 

 

Autor: Annika
Übersetzt von: Ronja