Indonesia: a bank account for all participants

Sri Hartini and Rizal

Global Micro Initiative´s microloans in South East Asia were paid out by cash. This method of granting a loan isn’t only complex but also impossible due to the lockdowns of the ongoing pandemic. Tobias is the founder of GMI and tried to find a way for supporting small businesses during the ongoing pandemic. It is contrary to the time when GMI started to grant microloans about 6 years ago. The government of Indonesia supports poorer people by giving them free access to bank accounts which they didn´t had before. This way we can offer the opportunity for paying out ot redeeming the loan by bank transfers. Thankfully we can still support our participants during the pandemic.

Only 2 out of 27 microloan participants have access to a bank account. Our aim is to help participants e.g. on the island of Lombok. We put a lot of effort for our participants and help each of them to open their own bank account during the next year.

Sopian is a “pioneer”. He is one of the first microloan participants who has an access to a bank account. Sopian has a small business on Lombok and earns his living for himself and his family by roasting coffee. With “Facebook” and “Instagram”, Sopian uses the internet for making business with his customers and use the benefits of digital payments with his bank account.

GMI aims to offer the same opportunities for every participant of our microloan programme. Each participant should have a chance to walk a step closer for a brighter future like Sopian. Even with lockdowns, GMI offers profound counselling for our microloan participants which mostly run a small business. In this way we can also keep strict social distancing and hygiene rules by using our phone or chat via “Facebook”.

 

 

 

Translation M.Pamuk

Indonesien: ein Bankkonto für alle Teilnehmenden!

Sri Hartini and Rizal

Die zahlreichen Mikrokredite, die wir in der Vergangenheit vergaben, wurden hauptsächlich in bar aus- und zurückbezahlt, was nicht nur zeitaufwändig, sondern während der Ausgangssperre nicht möglich war. „Gerade die Coronakrise hat uns gezeigt, dass wir neue Möglichkeiten ausprobieren müssen, um unseren Kleinunternehmern zu helfen,” erklärt unser Gründer Tobias. “Deshalb ermöglichen wir in den kommenden Monaten allen Teilnehmenden, auch per Überweisung Mikrokredite zu erhalten oder zurückzuzahlen. Als wir vor 6 Jahren unsere Arbeit in Südostasien begannen, wäre das unmöglich gewesen. Aber die Regierungen haben viel getan, um kostenlose Bankkonten auch für die Armen zu ermöglichen. Wir helfen unseren Kleinunternehmern nun, diese Chancen auch für sich zu nutzen.”

Aktuell haben lediglich 2 der 27 Mikrokreditnehmer Zugang zu einem Bankkonto. Um aber auch den Kleinunternehmern auf der indonesischen Insel Lombok dieselben Chancen zu ermöglichen, möchten wir im kommenden Jahr jedem Teilnehmer dabei helfen, ein Bankkonto zu eröffnen.

Sopian, ein Kleinunternehmer aus dem Osten von Lombok, gehört zu den Wenigen, die bereits die Vorteile von digitalen Zahlungsmöglichkeiten für sich entdeckt haben. Durch einen Mikrokredit, den Sopian vor einiger Zeit von GMI erhielt, konnte er sich als Kaffeeröster eine Existenz für sich und seine Familie aufbauen. Um sein Geschäft weiter voranzutreiben und auch Kunden außerhalb seines Dorfes anzusprechen, nutzt er Facebook und Instagram für seine Bestellungen, die dann per Überweisung bezahlt werden können.

“Damit andere Teilnehmenden dieselben Chancen haben wie Sopian, möchten wir gemeinsam mit ihnen einen Schritt Richtung Zukunft gehen,” erklärt Tobias Schüßler. “Trotz Kontaktbeschränkungen bieten wir auch weiterhin Beratungen für unsere Kleinunternehmer an. Entweder per Handy oder Facebook Chat oder persönlich, unter Einhaltung von strengen Hygiene- und Abstandsregeln.”

 

 

 

Autorin: Susann