Mael

Mael (22) comes from the province of Chaiyaphum in northeastern Thailand. Since there is little work available in Chaiyaphum, she had come to Pattaya. There, she worked for two years in a go-go bar on the famous “Walking Street”.

“Mael has heard of the Tamar Center from another woman who came to us in the spring”, reports Steffi Vaupel, project manager at Tamar Center. “When she heard that the Tamar Center was training women as cook, baker or dressmaker, she was immediately interested and wanted to stop working at bars. In May 2018, she joined us and took part in our three-month programme, where women from the bars receive counseling and insights into various training opportunities.”

sdr

Since October, Mael is being trained to become a cook. This includes learning to cook Thai dishes as well as training in the café, where she will also learn how to prepare coffee specialties and smoothies as well as serve. When Mael has completed the training, she will have a chance to work at many different employers for the first time in her life. She will be able to support her family without prostitution.

sdrMael has many dreams for her future. “She says that not only her, but her whole family is thankful that she can work with us. Before, her family, who also takes care of her two kids (aged 4 and 1) had never talked to her about what exactly she did in Pattaya. They needed money and were thankful for everything Mael provided, but where it came from, they didn’t want to know. ”

In the long term, Mael thinks of having a small mobile stand with which she can drive around with a scooter. This way she wants to sell Thai food and traditional pastries to people.

Mael

Mael (22) kommt aus der Provinz Chaiyaphum im Nordosten Thailands. Da es in Chaiyaphum wenig Arbeitsmöglichkeiten gibt, ist sie nach Pattaya gekommen. Dort hat sie zwei Jahre lang in einer Go-Go Bar auf der berüchtigten „Walking Street“ gearbeitet.

„Durch eine andere Frau, die im Frühjahr zu uns kam, hat Mael vom Tamar Center gehört“, berichtet Steffi Vaupel, Projektleiterin des Tamar Centers. „Als sie hörte, dass das Tamar Center Frauen als Köchin, Bäckerin oder Schneiderin ausbildet, hatte sie sofort Interesse und wollte in den Bars aufhören. Im Mai 2018 ist sie dann zu uns gekommen und hat an unserem Drei-Monats-Programm teilgenommen, bei dem Frauen aus den Bars seelsorgerliche Betreuung sowie Einblicke in verschiedene Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten erhalten.“

sdr

Seit Oktober ist Mael jetzt in der Kochausbildung. Diese beinhaltet thailändisch Kochen lernen sowie eine Ausbildung im Café, in der sie außerdem das Zubereiten von Kaffeespezialitäten und Smoothies sowie Servieren lernt. Wenn Mael die Ausbildung abgeschlossen hat, wird sie zum ersten Mal in ihrem Leben eine Chance auf Arbeit bei vielen verschiedenen Arbeitgebern haben. Sie wird ihre Familie unterstützen können ohne sich prostituieren zu müssen.

Mael hat viele Träume für ihr Leben. „Sie sagt, dass nicht nur sie, sondern auch ihre ganze Familie total dankbar ist, dass sie bei uns arbeiten kann. Ihre Familie, die sich auch um Maels 2 Kinder (4 und 1 Jahre alt) kümmert, hatte nie mit ihr darüber geredet, was sie genau in Pattaya macht. Sie brauchten Geld und waren dankbar für alles, was Mael geschickt hat, aber wo es herkam wollten sie nicht wissen.“

Langfristig überlegt Mael, einen kleinen mobilen Stand zu haben, den sie mit dem Roller herumfahren kann. So möchte sie Essen und thailändisches Gebäck an Menschen verkaufen.