Nong Update

Mail-Anhang-2

In 2018 we financed a training course for Nong, who is from a small village in the north of Thailand. Now, 2 years later and shortly before the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, she returned to her home village. Our partner, the Tamar Center, gave her a sewing machine and material to take with her. With this, Nong was able to realize her dream and open a small tailor shop. During the first weeks she mainly produced face masks – which earned her a lot of respect among the villagers, because the demand was huge! Even though the income was not yet quite enough for her livelihood, Nong made a profit from the very beginning despite the economic difficulties.

Fortunately, no one in the village got infected by the virus, partly thanks to Nong’s masks. COVID-19 is still hitting the region very hard. Despite people coming to her house to have clothes or other fabric items mended, no one has much money available. The reason for this is that the people in the cities, who financially support their relatives in the countryside, have lost their jobs. Currently, Nong earns on average the equivalent of 30 to 80 cents per job.

To encourage her, two staff members of the Tamar Center visited Nong in her village and stayed for two days. Financed by our donors, they brought Nong new materials and urgently needed items that she could not buy at home. Nong was very happy about the support and directly wrote us a thank-you card – and we are very happy that Nong has realized her dream of having her own tailor shop despite Corona and can support her entire village community with her work!

Nong Update

Mail-Anhang-2

2018 finanzierten wir Nong, die aus einem kleinen Ort im Norden Thailands stammt, eine Ausbildung. Nun, 2 Jahre später und kurz vor dem Ausbruch COVID-19 Pandemie, kehrte sie in ihr Heimatdorf zurück. Unser Partner, das Tamar Center, gab ihr noch eine Nähmaschine und Material mit auf den Weg. Damit konnte Nong ihren Traum verwirklichen und eine kleine Schneiderei eröffnen. Während der ersten Wochen produzierte sie hauptsächlich Gesichtsmasken – was ihr unter den Dorfbewohnern sehr viel Ansehen einbrachte, denn die Nachfrage war riesig! Auch wenn die Einnahmen noch nicht ganz für ihren Lebensunterhalt ausreichen, erwirtschaftete Nong trotz der wirtschaftlichen Schwierigkeiten von Anfang an Gewinne.

Glücklicherweise hat sich niemand im Dorf mit dem Virus angesteckt, unter anderem dank Nong’s Masken. Aber COVID-19 trifft die Region trotzdem sehr hart. Zwar kommen die Leute bei ihr vorbei, um Kleidung und sonstige Textilien flicken zu lassen, aber niemand hat viel Geld zur Verfügung. Denn die Menschen in den Städten, die ihre Verwandten auf dem Land finanziell unterstützen, haben ihre Arbeit verloren. Derzeit verdient Nong im Schnitt umgerechnet zwischen 30 und 80 Cent pro Auftrag.

Um sie zu ermutigen, besuchten zwei Mitarbeiterinnen des Tamar Centers Nong in ihrem Dorf und blieben zwei Tage. Finanziert durch unsere Spender brachten sie Nong neue Materialen und dringend benötigte Gegenstände mit, die sie Zuhause nicht kaufen konnte. Nong freute sich riesig über die Unterstützung und hat uns direkt eine Dankeskarte geschrieben – und wir freuen uns sehr, dass Nong ihren Traum von der eigenen Schneiderei trotz Corona verwirklicht hat und mit ihrer Arbeit ihre gesamten Dorfgemeinschaft unterstützen kann!