Romagyn

Romagyn V. Manning 1
Place: Baloy Beach, Olongapo City, Philippines
Age: 37  
Business: Sari Sari Shop / Canteen  
Loan: 87 EUR/ 5,000 PHP 

 

The sun is shining and even in the shades of the palm trees it‘s 30 degrees. There isn’t a soul in sight. All you hear is the sound of the waves. Under your feet fine sand and within sight the blue sea – what sounds like a dream for some, turns out to be a nightmare for many. 

It hasn’t been such quiet at Baloy Beach for a long time. Normally there are many tourists and inhabitants who seek cooling in the sea. In the Philippines, however, there is a strict corona lockdown. The promised financial support from the government does not reach everyone. The measures taken to contain the Corona crisis have meant that many small business owners simply run out of income during the lure of lockdown. 

Romagyn is one of them. She has had a small Sari Sari shop on the beach for a year, which also serves as a canteen. Before the Corona crisis, she was doing well. She was able to establish a firm foothold with her store. Since she has to look after two children, she depends on the income of her Sari Sari shop. But the pandemic has left small businesses suffering severe financial losses. 

In the meantime, customers are passing by again due to the relaxation and it seems that normality is returning. Romagyn now wants to pursue her plan to expand her small business. GMI supports them with a microcredit of 87 euros. We wish Romagyn every success in bridging this difficult time! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Translator: Frederic

Romagyn

Romagyn V. Manning 1
Ort: Baloy Beach, Olongapo City, Philippinen  
Alter: 37  
Geschäft: Sari Sari Shop / Kantine
Kredit: 87 EUR/ 5,000 PHP

 

Die Sonne scheint und selbst im Schatten der Palmen hat es 30 Grad. Weit und breit ist keine Menschenseele zu sehen. Alles, was man hört, ist das Rauschen der Wellen. Unter den Füßen feiner Sand und in Blickweite das blaue Meer – was sich für manche wie ein Traum anhört, entpuppt sich jedoch für viele als Albtraum. 

 So still war es am Baloy Beach nämlich schon lange nicht mehr. Normalerweise tummeln sich dort viele Touristen und Einwohner, die Abkühlung im Meer suchen. In den Philippinen herrscht jedoch ein strenger Corona-Lockdown. Die versprochene finanzielle Unterstützung der Regierung erreicht nicht jeden. Die Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung der Corona-Krise haben dazu geführt, dass vielen Kleinunternehmern in Zeiten des Lockdowns das Einkommen schlichtweg entfällt. 

Romagyn ist eine von ihnen. Sie hat seit einem Jahr an dem Strand einen kleinen Sari Sari Laden, welcher auch als Kantine dient. Vor der Corona-Krise ging es ihr gut. Sie konnte sich mit ihrem Laden ein festes Standbein aufbauen. Da sie zwei Kinder versorgen muss, ist sie auf das Einkommen ihres Sari Sari Ladens angewiesen. Doch durch die Pandemie litt das Kleinunternehmen unter starken finanziellen Einbußen. 

Mittlerweile kommen durch die Lockerungen wieder Kunden vorbei und es scheint als würde wieder Normalität einkehren. Romagyn will nun ihren Plan weiterverfolgen, ihr Kleinunternehmen zu vergrößern. Dabei unterstützt GMI sie mit einem Mikrokredit von 87 Euro. Wir wünschen Romagyn viel Erfolg bei der Überbrückung dieser schwierigen Zeit! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Autorin: Annika