Update from Indonesia

Visit to Nurjani (1)

Our aim to open a bank account for all of our microloan participants is progressing during September. The representatives of our partner organization “Gema Alam” regularly visit our microloan participants. During these visits our participants aquire knowledge for the use and “risks” of owning a bank account. To our regret – some of our microloan participants are sceptical of using mobile-banking and accept digital forms of payments. Especially elder participants prefer to pay with cash.

The Covid-19 pandemic is a time of hardship for all of us troughout the world. Sadly, with the pandemic and current measures to avoid any contact – it is much harder to pay with cash. For this reason, “Gema Alam” aims to show the importance and benefits of owning a bank account and use mobile-banking for our participants.

An Example – This month “Gema Alam” has visited Nurjani and Inak Damah. Both are women from Indonesia. Nurjani and Inak Damah run their own business. “Gema Alam” gets a better insight of our participants business while they can extract our participants needs and wishes in order to success any coming challenge or problem.

Opening a bank account isn´t the only deal. The improvement of their businesses and use of potentials is also of great importance during these visits. The improvement of products or varieties is playing a vital role for most of these businesses. Inak Demah offers a great variety of cakes for her customers. Many customers are amazed and satisfied with her varieties of cakes and she amazes new customers with it as well.

The individual consultation of our partner organizations e.g. “Gema Alam” succesfully supports our microloan participants in exploiting their potentials. Through increasing their product offerings or opening bank accounts – all participants benefit. We as the team of GMI are happy that our participants can expand or increase their income with their small businesses. It´s our aim to support them and also help them to improve in order to life a better life.

Translation M.Pamuk

Update aus Indonesien

Visit to Nurjani (1)

Auch im September schreitet unser Vorhaben, allen Mikrokreditnehmern ein Bankkonto zu ermöglichen, voran. Unsere Partnerorganisation Gema Alam besucht regelmäßig Mikrokreditnehmer, um sie über die Möglichkeiten sowie die Risiken eines Bankkontos zu informieren. Einige der Mikrokreditnehmer sind jedoch noch skeptisch und tun sich schwer, Mobile-Banking zu nutzen und zu akzeptieren. Vor allem unsere älteren Teilnehmenden tätigen Zahlungen lieber persönlich.

Doch gerade in Zeiten von COVID-19 und eingeschränkten Kontaktmöglichkeiten ist dies nicht mehr in vollem Maße möglich. Daher informiert Gema Alam unsere Mikrokreditnehmer über die Wichtigkeit und die Vorteile, die ein Bankkonto und Mobile-Banking mit sich bringen. Sie nehmen sich Zeit, um allen Teilnehmenden zu erklären, wie das Ganze funktioniert.

Diesen Monat besuchte Gema Alam unter anderem die beiden indonesischen Frauen Nurjani und Inak Demah. Durch diese Treffen lernen sie die Kleinunternehmerinnen besser kennen und können verstehen, welche Bedürfnisse und Wünsche sie haben, aber auch welchen Herausforderungen sie gerade gestellt sind und können auf ihre Probleme eingehen.

Neben der Eröffnung eines Bankkontos ist auch die Weiterentwicklung der Kleinunternehmen von großer Bedeutung, um den Mikrokreditnehmern bewusst zu machen, welche Potenziale in ihren Kleinunternehmen stecken. Insbesondere die Produktentwicklung spielt hierbei eine große Rolle. Inak Demah zum Beispiel bietet ihren Kunden jeden Tag neue unterschiedliche Kuchen an. Diese Varation schätzen ihre Kunden sehr und so wächst ihr Kleinunternehmen weiter.

Durch die individuelle Betreuung unserer Partnerorganisation vor Ort soll sichergestellt werden, dass unsere Mikrokreditnehmer ihre Potenziale entfalten können und von unseren Angeboten, wie z. B. der Hilfe bei der Eröffnung eines Bankkontos, profitieren. Wir von GMI freuen uns sehr darüber, unseren Mikrokreditnehmern beim Wachsen ihres Kleinunternehmens zusehen zu können und sie dabei zu unterstützen.

Autorin: Annika