Sohrini

Sahrini Balong
Place: Wanasaba, Indonesia  
Age: 45  
Business: Food Peddler  
Loan: 129 €

 

Sohrini never knows what her day will be like. Every day she sets foot into a new journey of unknown occurrences accompanied with a big basket that is filled with goods. She knocks on doors to sell noodles, sugar, coffee beans, rice etc. Face-to-face at any day and any season. 

She´s the wife of a family with 2 children and they live together in North Beririjarak / Indonesia. Her husband is employed as a bamboo weaver. Sohrini earns € 97 and her husband earns € 65. While the average income in Indonesia is € 271 per month,  Sohrini, her husband and their two children must live with only € 162 per month. Sohrini and her husband work hard to not only overcome the days but also give their children the opportunity to educate themselves in school and finance their education for providing them a better future perspective. 

 In 2010 Sohrini had to give up her small shop which she has opened just in the same year. Given this major setback, Sohrini didn´t gave up and worked hard to improve the future of their children. She gathered new ideas and came to the decision to walk around with her basket and make face-to-face sales from knocking one door to another. Her idea´s a huge success – she´s the person with the highest income in her family – quite unusual for women in Indonesia. Sadly, the family still lives below the level of poverty. GMI has granted Sohrini a microloan of € 129 in order to improve her situation and an opportunity to develop her business strategy. 

 If you want to help Sohrini for accomplishing her plans – you´re able to make a huge change with spending a small amount. Please grant a chance to Sohrini and others to improve their overall life situation and seek a more independent and self-determined life. 

 

Translation: Mustafa

Sohrini

Sahrini Balong
Ort: Wanasaba, Indonesien  
Alter: 45  
Geschäft: Lebensmittelhändlerin  
Kredit: 129 €

 

Jeden Tag startet Sohrini in ein neues kleines Abenteuer. Sie weiß nie genau, was sie erwartet, doch sie packt ihre Taschen und einen großen Korb voller Waren, um sich dann auf den Weg zu machen. Zu jeder Jahreszeit und an jedem Tag läuft die indonesische Frau von Tür zu Tür und verkauft ihre Waren. Die Leute, an deren Tür Sohrini klopft, dürfen sich über Nudeln, Zucker, Kaffeebohnen, Reis und noch vieles mehr freuen.

Zusammen mit ihrem Mann und den beiden gemeinsamen Kindern lebt die 45-jährige in Nord Beririjarak, Indonesien. Durch den Verkauf ihrer Waren verdient Sohrini umgerechnet 97 Euro im Monat. Mit dem Einkommen ihres Mannes, der als Bambusweber tätig ist, lebt die vierköpfige Familie von insgesamt 162 Euro im Monat. Das liegt unter dem indonesischen Durchschnittseinkommen, welches 271 Euro im Monat beträgt. Die Eltern arbeiten hart, um ihren Kindern eine Perspektive für die Zukunft bieten und die Schulbildung ihrer Kinder finanzieren zu können.

Das sieht man an Sohrinis bewundernswertem Tatendrang. Diesen erkennt man daran, dass sie nicht schnell aufgibt. Der Versuch im Jahr 2010, einen eigenen kleinen Laden zu eröffnen und Snacks zu verkaufen, scheiterte. Doch mit eisernem Willen sammelte die Indonesierin neue Ideen und entschied sich dann, von Tür zu Tür ihre Ware zu verkaufen – mit Erfolg. Mittlerweile ist sie Hauptverdienerin der Familie, was nicht viele Frauen in Indonesien von sich behaupten können. Dennoch lebt die Familie unter der Armutsgrenze. Um ihre Situation weiterhin zu verbessern, bekommt Sohrini mit einem GMI Mikrokredit über 129 Euro die Chance, ihre Geschäftsidee weiterzuentwickeln und auszubauen.

Wenn auch ihr Menschen wie Sohrini helfen wollt, könnt ihr bereits mit einer kleinen Spende einen großen Beitrag leisten, um anderen Menschen die Chance auf ein besseres und selbstbestimmteres Leben zu ermöglichen.

Autorin: Annika