Susanna

IMG_4460
Place: Subic, Philippines  
Age: 48  
Business: Delivery Service  
Loan: 90 €

 

Susanna heard about us from her niece Sarah, who at the same time is her neighbor and just received her second micro loan.
After presenting a promising business plan together with her loan application, the Project Life Subic team and our director Tobias Schüßler, who happened to be around at the time, visited her in her little home.

„The motorbike taxi couldn‘t bring us to the house. In order to reach Susanna, we first had to climb down a set of rock stairs and then master a rubble trail,“ Schüßler explains.

 

The entrepreneur has alread produced traditional snacks and sauces in the past, which she then delivered to her customers. Additionally, she generated income by ordering and delivering affordable jewelry. Even in poor areas like hers, jewelry is a must during festive occasions. She usually waits unitl a few orders came in until making the one hour trip to Olongapo City where she buys the necklaces and earrings and delivers these to her clients‘ home.

 

As Susanna had applied to a job in the past weeks, she had to spend a lot of money on obtaining health certificats and other documents as well as commuting back and forth. However, the job opportunity did not work out so she received a micro loan from us in order to be able to re-start her business. Without that loan, it would have taken her months to get back to her former business volume. Furthermore, she would not have been able to make use of the Easter holidays, an important day for the Filipinos.

 

Author: Tobias Schüßler
Translated by Frederic de la Haye

Susanna

IMG_4460
Ort: Subic, Philippinen  
Alter: 48  
Geschäft: Lieferservice  
Kredit: 90 €

 

Susanna hörte von uns durch ihre Nichte Sarah, die gleichzeitig auch ihre Nachbarin ist und bereits ihren zweiten Mikrokredit erhalten hat.

Nachdem sie einen vielversprechenden Geschäftsplan bei ihrer Bewerbung vorlegt, besuchen die Mitarbeiter von Project Life Subic, sowie unser Vorstandsvorsitzender Tobias Schüßler, der zu der Zeit gerade vor Ort ist, Susanna in ihrem kleinen Zuhause.
„Das Motorradtaxi kann uns nicht bis vor die Tür bringen. Um zu Susanna zu gelangen, müssen wir erst einmal eine Art Felsentreppe heruntersteigen und dann noch einen schmalen Geröllpfad bewältigen,“ erzählt Schüßler.

Die Kleinunternehmerin produzierte in der Vergangenheit bereits traditionelle Snacks und Soßen auf Bestellung und liefert diese dann an Kunden. Zusätzlich verdiente sie als Sammelbestellerin Geld mit erschwinglichem Schmuck, der selbst in ärmlichen Gebieten bei festlichen Anlässen nicht fehlen darf. Dabei wartet sie, bis mehrere Bestellungen eingegangen sind, fährt dann ins eine Stunde entfernte Olongapo, wo sie die Ohrringe und Halsketten einkauft und anschließend an die Kunden liefert.

In den letzten Wochen hatte sich Susanna um eine Arbeitsstelle beworben und musste viel Geld für das Einholen von Gesundheitsbescheinigungen und anderen Zertifikaten sowie Fahrtkosten ausgeben. Leider war die Bewerbung erfolglos. Um ihr Kleinunternehmen erneut starten zu können, erhielt sie nun von uns einen Mikrokredit. Ohne diesen hätte Susanna Monate gebraucht, um wieder auf das vorige Niveau zu kommen. Außerdem hätte sie Ostern nicht nutzen können, ein für die Filipinos sehr wichtiges Fest und dadurch umsatzstarke Zeit für Susanna.

Autor: Tobias Schüßler