Our Partners

IMG_8758

To enable people in Southeast Asia to live above the poverty line, we work closely with four local non-profit partner organizations: Project Life Subic in the Philippines, Gema Alam and the WKP Foundation in Indonesia and the Tamar Center in Thailand. They all share a common goal: To enable people to get out of poverty by helping people to help themselves.

In reaching that goal, our partners pursue different approaches: Tamar Center in Thailand works mainly in the red light district and enables women to get out of poverty prostitution through apprenticeships, Gema Alam takes care of the economic and social development of village communities in remote areas on Indonesia’s island Lombok, WKP Foundation supports people in poor neighborhoods of Bali’s capital Denpasar and the non-profit organization Project Life Subic helps people in the Philippines mainly through educational programs.

 

“As diverse as the focus of our partner organizations is, our cooperation with them is just as diverse. We give entire village communities access to microcredits, as well as for individual micro-entrepreneurs and we sponsor apprenticeships,” explains Tobias Schüßler, our director. “Together with our partners, we decide on the funded projects. For this purpose, we are in close contact with each other via Skype, social media and e-mail. These conversations always focus on the personal situation of each project participants and their families. That way I always stay informed and can assist with any questions. ”

 

The partner organizations are of great importance for the success of our work. Their employees are in weekly contact with the participants during the repayment or training period in order to be able to respond quickly to challenges and to provide advice if necessary. Tobias himself also travels to Southeast Asia about once a year to visit individual partner organizations, to ensure that donations have been used properly and that the programs help people in the long run.

“The close contact conveys our respect and appreciation of their hard work to our partners,” says Schüßler. “They do not perceive themselves as mere donation administrators, but as equal partners in the quest to help improve their lives.”

Unsere Partner

IMG_8758

Um Menschen in Südostasien ein Leben oberhalb der Armutsgrenze zu ermöglichen, arbeiten wir mit vier einheimischen gemeinnützigen Partnerorganisationen zusammen: Project Life Subic auf den Philippinen, Gema Alam und der WKP Stiftung in Indonesien sowie dem Tamar Center in Thailand. Sie alle haben ein gemeinsames Ziel: Menschen durch Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe einen Weg aus der Armut zu ermöglichen.

Hierbei haben unsere Partner ganz unterschiedliche Ansätze: Das Tamar Center in Thailand arbeitet schwerpunktmäßig im Rotlichtviertel und ermöglicht Frauen durch Ausbildungen einen Weg aus der Armutsprostitution. Gema Alam kümmert sich um die wirtschaftliche und soziale Entwicklung von Dorfgemeinschaften in schwer erreichbaren Gebieten auf Indonesiens Insel Lombok. Die WKP Stiftung unterstützt Menschen in den Armenvierteln von Balis Hauptstadt Denpasar und der gemeinnützige Verein Project Life Subic hilft Menschen auf den Philippinen vor allem durch Bildungsprogramme.

 

„So unterschiedlich die Schwerpunkte unserer Partnerorganisationen sind, so vielfältig ist unsere Zusammenarbeit mit ihnen. Wir ermöglichen ganzen Dorfgemeinschaften Zugang zu Mikrokrediten, genauso wie für einzelne Kleinstunternehmer und wir sponsern Ausbildungen“, erläutert Tobias Schüßler, GMIs Vorstandsvorsitzender. „Wir entscheiden gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern über die geförderten Projekte. Hierzu stehen wir über Skype, Soziale Medien oder per E-Mail in regem Kontakt miteinander. Bei diesen Gesprächen steht immer auch die persönliche Situation der Projektteilnehmer und deren Familien im Mittelpunkt. So bleibe ich stets informiert und kann bei Fragen unterstützen.“

 

Die Partnerorganisationen sind für den Erfolg unserer Arbeit von großer Bedeutung. Ihre Mitarbeiter stehen während der Rückzahlungsphase oder Ausbildungsdauer wöchentlich mit den Teilnehmern in Kontakt, um schnell auf Herausforderungen eingehen zu können und bei Bedarf beratend zur Seite zu stehen. Auch Tobias Schüßler selbst reist etwa einmal pro Jahr nach Südostasien, um einzelne Partnerorganisationen zu besuchen, und um sicherzustellen, dass Spendengelder korrekt verwendet wurden und die Programme den Menschen langfristig helfen.

„Der enge Kontakt vermittelt den Partnerorganisationen unseren Respekt und unsere Wertschätzung ihrer harten Arbeit“, so Schüßler. „Sie empfinden sich nicht als bloße Spendenverwalter, sondern als gleichberechtigte Partner im Bestreben, den Menschen Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe zu ermöglichen.“