From Dream to Reality

Lorna R. Lizada

During your childhood you have many dreams. Some of the following women would have wished to save lives as a doctor, go to the police, or travel around the world as a stewardess. But in a poor country like the Philippines, education is expensive, and many locals have no choice but to work in low-paid jobs.

Our Philippine partner organization Project Life Subic offers a training program for industrial seamstresses in order to give the participants better prospects for their future. Among other things, the women learn how to maintain and operate a sewing machine. In addition to the basics of industrial textile processing, they are also able to acquire important soft skills.

 

This time, our partner organization welcomed nine participants to its program:

Marivic Cambe (47 J.), single parent, 2 children
Lorna Lizada (47 J.), single parent, 7 children
Gerlie Magtoto (23 J.), single, no children
Jenifer Pajon (35 J.), single parent, 3 children
Werlina Barnillo (42 J.), single parent, 4 children
Shiela Mae Martin (41 J.), married, 2 children
Dianalyn Aquino (30 J.), single parent, 2 children
Nilda Aquino (44 J.), single parent, 1 children
Jovelyn Sanchez (38 J.), single, no children

Most of the women are from the Zambales province, their families averagely earn no more than 160 Euro per month. This is not very much, considering that the majority of these women are single parents and have to look after more than two children. Many came to the training program with the aim of learning how to sew and to open their own small sewing shop with the newly acquired knowledge.

Dianalyn and Lorna were also asked what dreams they had as children and both replied that they wanted to become seamstresses. It is nice to see that some of our participants were able to fulfill a childhood dream through the education that you, our donors, gave them. But not only that – through the numerous donations it is now possible for the women to improve their life situation and also that of their children.

“In the last three weeks I have learned a lot and I have enjoyed it very much. The program opens up more opportunities to us for the future,” says Gerlie, the youngest participant of the course. Overall, all women are happy with their new opportunities and newly acquired skills. The positive feedback from the participants spurs us on to expand the projects in the Philippines further.

Translated by: Ronja

Vom Traum zur Wirklichkeit

Lorna R. Lizada

Während der Kindheit hat man viele Träume. Einige der folgenden Frauen hätten sich gewünscht, einmal als Ärztin Leben zu retten, zur Polizei zu gehen, oder als Stewardess um die Welt zu reisen. Doch in einem armen Land wie den Philippinen ist Bildung teuer und vielen Einheimischen bleibt nichts anderes übrig als gering bezahlte Jobs anzunehmen.

Unsere philippinische Partnerorganisation Project Life Subic bietet ein Ausbildungsprogramm zur industriellen Näherin an, um den Teilnehmerinnen bessere Zukunftsaussichten zu ermöglichen. Dort lernen die Teilnehmenden unter anderem, wie man eine Nähmaschine wartet und bedient. Des Weiteren können sie neben den Grundlagen der industriellen Textilverarbeitung zudem wichtige Soft Skills erwerben.

 

Dieses Mal durfte unsere Partnerorganisation neun Teilnehmerinnen zu ihrem Programm begrüßen:

Marivic Cambe (47 J.), allein erziehend, 2 Kinder
Lorna Lizada (47 J.), allein erziehend, 7 Kinder
Gerlie Magtoto (23 J.), ledig, kein Kind
Jenifer Pajon (35 J.), allein erziehend, 3 Kinder
Werlina Barnillo (42 J.), allein erziehend, 4 Kinder
Shiela Mae Martin (41 J.), verheiratet, 2 Kinder
Dianalyn Aquino (30 J.), allein erziehend, 2 Kinder
Nilda Aquino (44 J.), allein erziehend, 1 Kind
Jovelyn Sanchez (38 J.), ledig, kein Kind


Die Frauen kommen zum größten Teil aus der Zambales Provinz, ihre Familien verdienen im Schnitt nicht mehr als 160 Euro im Monat. Dies ist nicht besonders viel, wenn man bedenkt, dass die Mehrheit der Frauen allein erziehend sind und sich um mehr als zwei Kinder kümmern müssen. Viele kamen zum Ausbildungsprogramm mit dem Ziel, das Nähen zu erlernen und mit dem neu erworbenen Wissen ihre eigene kleine Näherei zu eröffnen.

So wurden auch Dianalyn und Lorna gefragt, was sie als Kinder für Träume hatten und beide antworteten, dass sie Näherin werden wollten. Es ist schön zu sehen, dass einige unserer Teilnehmerinnen sich durch die von Euch, unseren Spendern ermöglichte Ausbildung, einen Kindheitstraum erfüllen konnten. Doch nicht nur das – durch die zahlreichen Spenden ist es den Frauen nun möglich, ihre Lebenssituation und auch die ihrer Kinder zu verbessern.

„In den letzten drei Wochen habe ich viel gelernt und es hat mir sehr gefallen. Das Programm bietet uns mehr Möglichkeiten für die Zukunft“, so Gerlie, die jüngste Teilnehmerin des Kurses. Insgesamt sind die Frauen alle glücklich über ihre neuen Möglichkeiten und die neu erworbenen Fähigkeiten. Das positive Feedback der Teilnehmerinnen spornt uns an, die Projekte in den Philippinen weiter auszubauen.

Autorin: Annika