Empowering Women on Lombok with Micro Loans – A Conversation with Haiziah Gazali Zicko on International Women’s Day

Team GMI & GA (3)

“Women don’t have the same opportunities on Lombok as men,” Haiziah Gazali Zicko tells us. “They don’t have the same educational opportunities, so they don’t have the same chances of finding a good job. The needs of women in the economic and social fabric of our society are being neglected.” Together with Zicko, we are therefore working to strengthen women’s rights on the Indonesian island of Lombok.

“GMI’s microcredit program helps us in particular to strengthen the economic situation of women,” Zicko added. “Thanks to GMI’s help, women have access to capital to start a small business, and their right to education and self-realization is strengthened.”

Gema Alam’s chairman cites as examples the kiosk owner Muliana from the village of Mekarsari, Wardah from the village of Tanak Maiq, who sells crackers very successfully, and Sri Hartini from Pringgasela, a successful weaver. “Through GMI’s microcredits and the accompanying seminars, they became so successful that their influence within the family and even in the village community has grown enormously.”

We thank our supporters who, with their donations, enable us to advance the economic development of women on Lombok.

Mit Mikrokrediten Frauen auf Lombok stärken – Ein Gespräch mit Haiziah Gazali Zicko zum Weltfrauentag

Team GMI & GA (3)

„Frauen haben auf Lombok nicht die gleichen Chancen wie Männer“, so erklärt uns Haiziah Gazali Zicko. „Sie haben nicht die gleichen Bildungschancen, deshalb haben sie nicht die gleichen Chancen auf eine gute Arbeitsstelle. Die Bedürfnisse der Frauen im wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Gefüge unserer Gesellschaft werden vernachlässigt.“ Gemeinsam mit Zicko setzen wir uns deshalb für die Stärkung der Frauenrechte auf der indonesischen Insel Lombok ein.

„Das Mikrokreditprogramm von GMI hilft uns, insbesondere die wirtschaftliche Situation von Frauen zu stärken“, so Zicko weiter. „Dank GMI’s Hilfe erhalten Frauen Zugang zu Kapital, um ein kleines Unternehmen zu gründen; ihr Recht auf Bildung und Selbstverwirklichung wird gestärkt.“

Als Beispiele nennt Gema Alams Vorsitzende die Kiosk-Besitzerin Muliana aus dem Dorf Mekarsari, Wardah aus dem Dorf Tanak Maiq, die sehr erfolgreich Cracker verkauft, und Sri Hartini aus Pringgasela, eine erfolgreiche Weberin. „Durch GMI’s Mikrokredite und die begleitenden Seminare wurden sie so erfolgreich, dass ihr Einfluss innerhalb der Familie und sogar in der Dorfgemeinschaft enorm gewachsen ist.“

Wir danken unseren Unterstützern, die es uns mit ihren Spenden ermöglichen, die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der Frauen auf Lombok voranzubringen.