Rebuilding in Lombok

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-10 at 09.05.06

A few months ago, several strong earthquakes shook the Indonesian island of Lombok. First aid reached the victims quickly and the locals could soon begin to rebuild their homes. The economic life in the small villages, however, came to a complete fall for a few weeks. Together with our partner organisation Gema Alam, we gave village communities the opportunity to rebuild their businesses without having to rely on alms or to pay exorbitant interest to commercial money lenders.

With its coffee cultivation, Indonesia ranks among the top 10 coffee-growing areas. Compared to other growing regions of the world, the Robusta coffee bean is mainly grown, which is stronger and slightly more bitter than the more common Arabica bean in Europe. Our micro-borrower Sopian opened his own coffee shop a year ago. Every month he buys about 10 kg of coffee beans from local farmers and sells them in smaller units or directly as freshly brewed coffee to his customers. Although the business is not as profitable as he hoped at the beginning, he still earns around €30 a month. With a microcredit of €130, Sopian has been able to reopen his business after the earthquake.

 

For travelers who haven’t thought of everything or are spontaneously planning a camping trip, Lalu opened his camping equipment rental store in 2017. To equip tourists for a camping trip, he offers all basic equipment such as tents, sleeping pads, backpacks and other necessary products. The 32-year-old father and husband earns about €60 a month with the business. The store is showing great promise for the future. Lalu raised the capital for his business completely himself.
With a micro-loan of €130, Lalu was able to buy new items after the quake and thus resume his business. Now, only the tourists have to return to Lombok, but Lalu is optimistic about that.

 

Sukardi runs a small shop. There he sells mobile phone credit and other products. The house where he currently lives is located in a small village adjacent to the forest. Before the earthquake, he had applied for a micro-loan to buy a printer and turn his store into a print shop. Now Sukardi received the €130 to buy necessary equipment and supplies.

 

“Having access to fair financial services and practical consulting transforms entire village communities,” says director Tobias Schüßler. “Together with Gema Alam, we can do a lot of good here. For this to happen, we need more supporting members and donors who want to empower the families in Lombok to live a better and more independent life.”

Wiederaufbau auf Lombok

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-10 at 09.05.06

Vor einem halben Jahr erschütterten mehrere starke Erdbeben die indonesische Insel Lombok. Gemeinsam mit unserer Partnerorganisation Gema Alam geben wir den Dorfgemeinschaften mit unseren Mikrokrediten die Möglichkeit, ihre Geschäfte wieder aufzubauen, ohne auf Almosen angewiesen zu sein oder horrende Zinsen an kommerzielle Geldverleiher zahlen zu müssen.

Mit seinem Kaffeeanbau zähl Indonesien zu den Top 10 der Kaffeeanbaugebiete. Gegenüber anderen Anbaugebieten der Welt wird überwiegend die Robusta-Kaffeebohne, welche stärker und etwas bitterer als die in Europa bekanntere Arabica-Bohne ist, angebaut. Unser Mikrokreditnehmer Sopian eröffnete vor einem Jahr sein eigenes Kaffeegeschäft. Jeden Monat kauft er ca. 10 kg Kaffeebohnen von einheimischen Bauern und verkauft diese in kleineren Einheiten oder direkt als frisch gebrühten Kaffee zum Mitnehmen an seine Kundschaft. Zwar ist das Geschäft nicht so gewinnbringend wie zu Beginn von ihm erhofft, dennoch verdient er ca. 30 € im Monat. Mit einem Mikrokredit von 130 € hat Sopian sein Geschäft nach dem Erdbeben wiedereröffnen können.

 

Für Reisende, die nicht an alles gedacht haben oder spontan einen Campingausflug planen, eröffnete Lalu 2017 seinen Laden zur Vermietung von Campingausrüstung. Um Touristen für einen Campingausflug auszurüsten, bietet er jegliche Grundausstattung wie Zelte, Isomatten, Rucksäcke und weitere notwendige Produkte an. Der 32-jährige Vater und Ehemann verdient mit dem Geschäft monatlich ca. 60 €. Für die Zukunft zeigt sich der Laden sehr vielversprechend. Das Kapital für sein Geschäft brachte Lalu komplett selbst auf.
Mit einem Mikrokredit von 130 € konnte Lalu nach dem Beben neue Gegenstände einkaufen und somit sein Geschäft wieder fortsetzen. Nun müssen lediglich noch die Touristen zurück nach Lombok kommen, doch da ist Lalu optimistisch.

 

Sukardi betreibt einen kleinen Laden. Dort verkauft er Handyguthaben und weitere Kleinigkeiten. Das Haus, in dem er aktuell lebt, befindet sich in einem kleinen, an den Wald angrenzenden Dorf. Bereits vor dem Erdbeben hatte er einen Mikrokredit beantragt, um einen Drucker zu kaufen und seinen Laden in einen Printshop zu verwandeln. Nun erhielt Sukardi die 130 €, um nötiges Equipment und Vorräte einkaufen zu können.

 

„Der Zugang zu fairen Finanzdienstleistungen und praktischen Beratungen verändert hier ganze Dorfgemeinschaften“ erklärt der Vorstandsvorsitzende Tobias Schüßler. „Wir können gemeinsam mit Gema Alam hier noch viel bewirken. Dafür benötigen wir weitere Fördermitglieder und Spender, die den Familien auf Lombok ein besseres und selbstbestimmtes Leben ermöglichen.“